April 20, 2009

  • More Brain Droppings

    Posted by Sammy

    1045pm from Home

    So cancer is a heavy subject and every now and then we need to talk about something else. Its how we keep sane during treatment. Just letting random thoughts out to play. Many of these come at odd times to me. People often ask if I write this stuff down prior or really ponder it and the answer, in short, is not really. Most thoughts come when im riding. Its my best chance to unplug from the rest of the world. I really do enjoy it. When Im driving in me car i notice things as i drive by but when im riding I really SEE things…from people to the road underneath…when I get away from cars it can get crazy quiet at times. And I can smell whats around me….sometimes this is a good thing….grills, campfires, even restaraunts. Sometimes its not…like skunks. Weve all smelled them in the car going 60mph….now imagine you have no car to sheild you and youre waaaay closer to the skunk….you get the picture. Anyway, on with the show…..

    I was watching the news and saw the teaparties. Now were not going to get into whether those were good, bad or somewhere in between….were not here to debate that. It did however turn my attention to a problem that we must address and without delay…..we, as Americans must do something to improve our rally chants and mob mentality! I watched the news coverage and every crowed was chanting USA! USA!. Now pause….I love our country….Im all for cheering its name when Michael Phelps is making the worlds swimmer’s look like Nemo out there. But it was basically us chanting our own name at ourselves. It would be like going into your bosse’s office and chanting your own name to prove your point. We do it at every sporting event….even when we’re losing. Have you ever watched soccer? Now MLS is making some strides with their hooligans….im hearing drums and songs and seeing flags…but look to our neighbors to the south, say in Brazil. Wow. That is some chanting. The dont shut up for the entire game. And I dont think they repeat either….not to mention practically bringing a 20 piece band to make noise. and play. The closes to that we have come is college football….but that is really pretty neat and tidy….no real conversation between the two sides. No dialouge. No mob-love. To find that we have to look accross the pond. To our friends the British. England has raised chanting and crowd communication to an art form. I give you two shining examples.

    1. British Parliament. If you have never watched it, you really should. Im suprised they dont just hit each other. They make congress look like a bunch of sissies.

    2. The grandaddy here is the fans of the English National Team….specifically when they played Germany…..and the entire english side, in unison proceeded to sing “If your country won the war stand up” and then rise to their feet. Brilliant.

    See? Soccer fans in Europe…threw fireworks….on the field…see how that gets the point accross? Ok me neither but it looks cool.

     

    Im not saying dont have a tea party or a pepsi party or a wine and cheese party. Have a tailgate party on capitol hill…I dont care. Have whatever kind of party you want. Protest peacfully as you please….its your right. But for the sake of the viewers at home, lets get some chants that get the slogan across.

    Wrestling fans get their point accross by throwing chairs into the ring? They are saying “We like chairs…use chairs!” Actually I think they also buried the wrestlers under said chairs, so maybe not the most effective stragegy.

    Now on to children. No not students….little kids. The ones on the bike trail. Can’t we get them to stay still. Ive seen waaaaay more kids running accross the trail this year than in the past. I really want to warn the parents to keep them on a leash or something. Im pretty good about slowing down but those critters are fast. I really dont want to hit a kid by accident….that would be bad. I know how much it hurts me if i go down….and please if theyre riding a bike put a helmet on them. It really might save their life…no joke.

    Finally got my sorry self back to church this past weekend. I like it there. Actually I feel very lucky and blessed. Our church has been so supportive through all this cancer stuff and we have two great pastors who really know their stuff.

    Thinking of riding Peletonia. Google it….could be interesting. Or painful.

     

    Ok im out of ideas….Im off to bed. Back to real posting tomorrow.

    Sammy

     

Comments (1)

  • The Cameron Crazies win when it comes to chanting.

    When NC State plays at Duke and there are about 2 minutes left, they start chanting, “Start the tractor!” There are plenty more in there repertoire, but you get the idea.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *