April 27, 2009

  • Travel tales, medical updates, and spring….yay spring!

    Posted by Stephanie 7:25am from the house

    So, mom and I are home in Ohio. I know, I know, we’re impossible to keep up with–everyone keeps telling me that. I wish I could say we were back for good, but sadly, not yet. I was originally supposed to see Dr. Benjamin last Thursday, the 23rd, for the big news about whether I was being turned loose for good. However, because this last chemo treatment was postponed several days due to my platelets, they also pushed back my appointment with him so that we would have a more accurate set of blood counts to go on at the two week cycle mark as he makes his decision. I now don’t see him until this Thursday, the 30th, with abdominal and chest CTs happening Wednesday evening. A couple of weeks ago when I saw his physician’s assistant, she said he wouldn’t want to repeat the scans from last month, but they showed up on my schedule, so evidently he changed his mind. I’m actually quite glad about that–certainly makes me feel better to know he’ll have the most updated information about that vascular malformation that appeared abnormal last time, plus another look at everything else. Without all that, making a decision, to me anyway, would seem rather arbitrary. Of course, how my immune system and I are tolerating the treatments factors into that as well. I continue to have significant issues with the inflammation/swelling issues, puffy steroid face, plus things like minor nosebleeds, trouble sleeping, etc. Nothing new, just more of the same that keeps getting a little worse each round. Personally, I think my body’s screaming pretty loud and clear, “I’m done, thank you, I’ve had enough!”. We’ll see what Dr. Benny has to say–never can tell with him.

    Mom and I found out about my appointment being pushed back over the weekend following my chemo treatment, so our decision to come home was, as usual, last minute. I had totally planned to just be there until the appointment with Dr. B (and then hopefully come home for good), but with the change in schedule, we would’ve been hanging out down there for about 10 days with absolutely nothing to due. So, as soon as I cleared the methotrexate early last week, we hopped in the car and headed back to Ohio. Got home on Wednesday evening, just in time for the weather to get really nice here. I’m totally used to the temperatures, but 80 degrees here and 80 degrees in Houston feels and looks totally different. I much prefer spring time here–the new buds on the flowers and trees, the cool breeze, all that good stuff. I haven’t done much of anything since I’ve been home–some cooking and baking (Sammy and I grilled out this weekend, too, which was awesome), some laundry and cleaning, had a nearly four hour breakfast with Reba (a new record for us), got to go to church, and saw Sammy play in the community band concert yesterday afternoon. All low-key things, which is fine by me. I’ve also been to the YMCA twice and spent about 20 minutes each time going verrrry slowly on the treadmill or elliptical machine. Mom and I try to walk at least a mile every day in Houston, but I think it’s good to do something a little more intense now and then. There is a workout room at the apartment complex, but most of the time it’s either too busy or the machines I would use are broken. I’m determined to get myself physically rehabbed and back in shape much quicker this time around. After I came home from treatment the first time, I had the chest surgery recovery still hanging over me, plus the major cardiac issues, so it took waaay longer to even start a recovery program. Anyway, I shall be buff and tuff (well, at least a little, hopefully) sooner this time. That’s my goal!

    So much else to talk about, but a quick update is all there’s time for right now. I’m supposed to head to central office for Middletown City Schools and sign my contract to return in the fall. That’s right, that’s the plan. Now, whether I’ll be totally physically or mentally and internally ready to do that still remains to be seen, but I had to make a decision, and well, in this economy and our current situation, there’s not much of a choice. Anyway, that’s a whole other mess of stuff I’m not gonna get into right now. After that and a couple more errands, I’ve gotta pack up–mom and I start our drive back tomorrow. Oof. I’ll update sooner next time, I promise. Hope everyone is doing well.

    –Steph

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *