January 29, 2013

  • Life 2.0: Update from the Front

     

    So Ive done several posts on thoughts but not much on real life. Steph and I always used to do updates on just what was happening with us. They weren’t the most exciting but they kept everyone in the loop. I have in mind a serious post to come and also some more light hearted material. But for tonight, Id just like to update everyone like we always used to.

     

    School is going wonderfully. The students at EC have been truly wonderful and supportive. So has the staff and administration. I am not saying this just because they all read this. I am saying because it is true. I am so lucky to be able to do what I do every day. Not every day is easy but the reward is worth it. Some of the most incredible support over the last few months has come because of where I teach. The bands are coming along well and some exciting things are on the horizon.

     

    Ive been spending time with friends and family and that has been my emergency flotation device. My family and a handful of people are such key components of how well I am doing. Im also lucky to get to help my mom with her Show Choir. Like my band students they are a great group of students and a blast to work with. Its also a chance to do things with my family that are also in the music world I love.

     

    Big things coming up in the next few months:

    -East Clinton will be putting on Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat on March 1 and 2. Over the years I have come to truly look forward to the musical production. It’s a really unique atmosphere of so many people working together on such a big thing. Very much looking forward to that.

    -Our band will be headed to district contest in March

    -I am doing a Florida trip with the band over spring break. This is one of my favorite parts of my job. Traveling to Disney with a busload of parents and students its like a little family on wheels and I am very much looking forward to it.

     

    The nearest thing however is a trip to Houston. I haven’t seen Dr. B and the folks at Anderson since late summer. Im planning to head down and bring some closure to that end of things. I want to just say hi, maybe talk a little and just see those people who were so important to us over the years. I also want to thank them for always working to find new ways to fight. I know our battle would have lasted 7 months and not 7 years if not for those doctors and nurses and that hospital. That’s a fact.

     

    And I am doing ok. I am healing slowly. It is hard not to look over my shoulder. Sometimes emotions overwhelm me but I can look forward to the coming months and years with an optimism and I have things to look forward to. And theres the full circle. I have things to look forward to because of my family, my friends and my job that is less a job than a passion that I am blessed to be able to live. Another strong feeling I have is a need to kick start making a difference. But I need help. I’d like to see an event happen this year to raise funds for the Sarcoma Foundation grant in Stephanie’s name. Can you help? I am basically asking for volunteers to help create this and feedback on what we can get rolling. For those my area I can facilitate a place to meet. I am also working on getting some online discussion started…if you haven’t already, head over the Sarcoma Foundation of America Ohio Chapter page on Facebook and like it! If you would like to be a part of creating and organizing an event in 2013 please contact me on Facebook or via email: sammminge@gmail.com

     

    Looking forward to seeing how we can all Live Give Love together!

     

    Peace,

    Sammy

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *